Book Club

I’m pleased to introduce the Proverbs 3:13-18 club, a book club designed to expand your thoughts and to challenge yourself intellectually.

Why Proverbs 3:13-18?

Like all good Catholics, I don’t read my Bible enough. Realizing this, I picked a particular book in the Bible to read for Lent and read that one as much of it as possible. One Lent I decided to read the book of Proverbs. I read through the most of Proverbs that Lent, but chapter three, verses thirteen through eighteen jumped out at me. It’s stuck with me with me ever since:

13 Happy is the man who finds wisdom, and the man who gets understanding,
14 for the gain from it is better than gain from silver and its profit better than gold.
15 She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her.
16 Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor.
17 Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace.
18 She is a tree of life to those who lay hold of her; those who hold her fast are called happy

 

Here are the general rules:

  • The book will be picked by me. If the commentors  have multiple good ideas, I might put it to a vote. The book with the most votes wins.
  • You have a month to read the book. Extensions can and probably will be offered.
  • Once the appointed time is reached, there will be a thread where you can discuss the book and write reviews.

The first book will be

Free Trade Doesn’t Work: What Should Replace It and Why, by Ian Fletcher

Happy Reading!!

2 thoughts on “Book Club

  1. I had been peeking into your blog, a recent discovery, and am glad to see that your book club may come around. I cannot promise that I will keep up, rather the opposite I am sad to say, but I do you will keep us posted. That being said, I assume you plan on discussing the work with those who decide to join in even, how do you plan to facilitate those discussions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

